where to keep my chickens!

Love to have animals around? Perhaps you're being plagued by them? All your tips here...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

mrs gruntilla
KG Regular

Hi there

very sorry if this has already been discussed - this is my first post, so still finding my way around.

I used to keep chickens a few years ago (loved them) and change in circumstances meant I had to give them up.

Now, my husband and I are renting a house, and have an allotment - and here is my dilemma... I can keep chickens in our (small) back garden in one of those houses that has the 'living area' above the run (shaped like a prism?...) and move them around the garden all the time or, I can keep them at the allotment (is this correct?) and they will have more room.

At home, they will get more attention - at the allotment, I'll see them once a day.

I'm not a chicken expert, so I'd appreciate some advice - which is best? more room, or more attention? and equally, what would be a good breed (cross breed?) to go for?

Thank you for your help :D
Diane
KG Regular

As long as you have permission from your landlord then I would keep them at home - much safer. You never know who's around on the allotment - two legged or four legged critters may take your hens! Also, as the weather warms up you'll be able to make sure they have fresh clean water daily.
They'll be fine in an enclosed run. If you can move it around then that's fine - but some of mine are in a static run which has paving slabs as a base and I top it with shavings and straw. This keeps them amused scratching around and it's easy to scrape out weekly, a quick hose down, and new shavings and straw put down. (I only have a small garden too). Hang up a brussel sprout stem or give them a wire hanging basket in the run containing a few greens, apples or carrots etc. They'll keep themselves amused and exercised pecking at it.

There are so many breeds out there and everyone has their favourites.