raised beds

Polytunnels, cold frames, greenhouses, propagators & more. How to get the best out of yours...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

iknownothing
KG Regular

Hi

I am a complete novice as my user name suggests! but i have wanted to grow veg for a while now. I have bought some plastic tiered raised beds 2m x 1m, they are on paving slabs as that is the sunniest part of my garden the rest being quite shady for most of the day. I have lined them with water permeable weed control fabric and tomorrow have a tonne of topsoil arriving to fill them - my question is what should i add to the topsoil - shop bought compost? what ratio of compost would i need approx?
Any answers greatly appreciated thankyou
richard p
KG Regular

there are two reasons add stuff to the soil... firstly to add nutrients to feed the plants and secondly to add organic matter to retain water... shop bought compost is one answere... any plant based material that will rot is beneficial.. leaf mold. manure, home made compost, lawn mowings, veg peelings... even shredded paper. as to how much... i would use as much organic matter as i could find... when our local council was giving away their recycled compost i used a couple of baths full of 100% compost to grow carrots and salad leaves, wouldnt use quite as much if i had to pay for it though :D
oldherbaceous
KG Regular

Welcome to the forum iknownothing. :)

Regarding the question of what to add to the topsoil, i think i would wait and see what the topsoil is like when it arrives. If you have purchased a good quality screened topsoil, there is no real need to add anything sraight away.
You can then start making your own compost through this year, to add to your raised beds next year.

If it's poor quality soil, i think i would buy a bucket of Chicken manure pellets and apply at the suggested rate from the intructions.