Tomato - Idli

If you've found the information on the seed packet to be sadly lacking, this is the place to find out more, or add your comments!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

vivie veg
KG Regular

This is my first year of growing these and I have a query.

The seed packet says remove all side shoots as they appear, leaving one main stem. However, the nice weather has encouraged early growth and I did not get around to removing some side shoots until they were getting a bit big, but I noticed that they have flowers on the side shoots. I have removed the side shoots from two of the four oldest plants and left the other two. Guess which are covered in flowers and which are just leaves? These 4 plants are taken from cuttings of a plant that I over wintered in the kitchen.

I have a further 24 plants grown from seeds, which are nowhere near as advanced but I was wondering what policy I should adopt with pinching out, when the time comes?

Has anyone grown these before and is it best to grow them as cordons or bushes?
I don't suffer from insanity .... I enjoy it!

Vivianne
Primrose
KG Regular

vivie - am fascinated by your post because I've never heard of anybody taking cuttings from a tomato plant before and overwintering them indoors (or in a greenhouse). Is this something you regularly do, and how do you take the cuttings. I've never heard of this particular variety of tomato before. Is there something unusual about it?
As a general rule when growing my tomatoes I always pinch the side shoots out. However, occasionally the odd one gets missed and I've sometimes come across the odd side shoots which is flowering. In these cases I can't bear to deprive myself of a few extra fruits, so just ensure that I give the plant some extra generous applications of Tomorite to help it bear its extra burden.
Lyn
KG Regular