Advice on onion sets

General tips / questions on seeding & planting

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Binky
KG Regular

I have just received a delivery of onion sets - Red Baron. I have been growing onions for several years and they are the largest I have ever seen - on average about 3.5 cm diameter. My reference book (Joy Larkcom) recommends smaller sets and advises to avoid large ones as they tend to bolt. Any thoughts or advice would be welcome.

Thank you.
John
KG Regular

Hello Binky
i suspect that these may be heat treated (sometimes called 'prepared') sets. If so you have nothing to worry about as far as bolting goes.
You are right to be wary of large untreated onion sets though.
Check to see exactly what you ordered. I've always found the big seed boys very good at sending stuff out at the right time for planting in this area.

John
The Gods do not subtract from the allotted span of men’s lives, the hours spent fishing Assyrian tablet
What we observe is not nature itself, but nature exposed to our method of questioning Werner Heisenberg
I am a man and the world is my urinal
Kleftiwallah
KG Regular

If you decide to carry on and plant them, don't push them into the ground, dig a small hole and cover them to hide them from the birds, they tend to pull them up as they search for bugs. Cheers, Tony.
FelixLeiter
KG Regular

It is true that large ones tend to bolt, but the fact that you have only just received your sets indicates that they are heat treated. Which is just as well, because red onions have a tendency to bolt far more readily than other varieties. Seedsmen have for years been trying to develop red onions which do not bolt easily and which have even half-way decent disease resistance, but without success, which is why they remain expensive.