Potatoes in compost heaps

Polytunnels, cold frames, greenhouses, propagators & more. How to get the best out of yours...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Jane
KG Regular

I obviously managed to get a couple of small potatoes into my compost heap 2 years ago. Last year they produced some good foliage so I decided to leave them and see what they produced. Having emptied the compost heap last week I was amazed at the crop of potatoes, all clean and disease free and no slug damage! I suspect they were Sarpo Axona as I have been growing this for quite a few years now. Given the quality and size of crop I am going to try this with some earlies and maincrop this year. Has anyone else had any success with this method?
Jane
oldherbaceous
KG Regular

Dear Jane, one year when i was unable to use one of my open compost heaps, i had a huge crop of potatoes from a couple of self sets that grew in it.

But i have never tried it as an ongoing experiment.
Kind Regards, Old Herbaceous.

There's no fool like an old fool.
Monika
KG Regular

Like OH, we have had the odd ones escape and they have been fine, but I think trying to keep it going would be risky. One day, mice and their larger cousins will discover this easy source of food and move in. I am surprised, too, that slugs had not got to your "crop" already!
solway cropper
KG Regular

One thing it does show is the value of compost in producing good yields.
Marigold
KG Regular

When I plant in containers I put a thick layer of unrotted kitchen waste at the bottom and the results are great. I read somewhere once of someone growing pumpkins on a whole heap of unrotted kitchen waste and if i can find seed will try that too.
It is all too easy to be suspicious of different ideas.People's faces when I tell them I save seed..

Some of the last bag of roosters have grown long shoots so I shall try this! Thank you..
peter
KG Regular