Blight

Can't identify that mould? Got a great tip for keeping slugs at bay? Suggestions for organic weed control? Post them here...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

JohnN
KG Regular

The leaves on some of my potatoes (Arun Pilot & Desiree) are going yellow. Is this blight? I don't want to dig them up if they are still OK. I did spray with Bordeaux Mixture a month ago, but it may have been washed off by the rain. Thanks for any advice.
Primrose
KG Regular

I thought leaves (both potato and tomato) went black with blight rather than yellow so wonder if itss lack of nutrients. Have only grown potato's in containers so am sorry I'm not an expert. Hope somebody comes up with an answer for you.
Westi
KG Regular

Hi JohnN,

Blight appears as dark brown/black roundish spots on the leaves & then streaks on the stems & then it goes to mush. You will generally find it on the leaves first. I am anticipating I will get an attack this year with this rain & warmth cycle we are having so have some copper spray on hand, but it just delays the inevitable so you can at least harvest & save your crop.

You can sign up to Blightwatch for free & they will send you an alert if the weather conditions are right for blight in your area so you get a chance to spray at the right time.
Westi
robo
KG Regular

I’ve had around 5 earlies go yellow ish then die I put it down to lack of water although I’ve watered a few times there’s that much looking for water as it’s been bone dry all June and most of may I dug one up that had died but it was like digging concrete,our council won’t allow sprinklers and frown on hose pipes they expect us to use watering cans ,it’s raining at present with a promise of moore to come
JohnN
KG Regular

Thanks all for your comments. I dug up one of the yellowing Arun Pilots and the crop was fine - a reasonable yield of medium and small "earlies", some of which are going to grace today's lunch table of fresh grilled salmon!
Chantal
KG Regular