Delicate topic

A place to chat about anything you like, including non-gardening related subjects. Just keep it clean, please!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

Primrose
KG Regular

Perhaps this has come up before (I'm a newbie here) but I rarely see any mention about human poo being added to compost heaps. Are there any specific health & safety reasons for not doing so? I remember my grandparents having an outdoor privvy with a "thunderbox" and the contents of that were always added to their compost heap to rot down and nurture their home grown vegetables. Their six children all lived to their 80's and 90's so it couldn't have been too much of a health hazard then!
sprout
KG Regular

Well, they still do it in China and probably elsewhere! My dad used to use dried sludge. I think there is a question about mercury content of modern poo - if it's your own recycled veg rather than other peoples' McFlurries, it should be good for the garden :roll:
Chantal
KG Regular

This was discussed at length on the old forum (you have no IDEA what you've just started) and I have a friend who in fact has an "en suite" Moule Earth Closet, the contents of which he buries in his garden. He has fabulous beans that only he will eat. :lol:

As Primrose says, knowing where the stuff has come from is a big part of this. There is a book available from Amazon called "Humanure Handbook: A Guide to Composting Human Manure"; I have the sister publication "Liquid Gold: The Lore and Logic of Using Urine to Grow Plants" which caused much mirth and merriment a while back.
:D
Chantal

I know this corner of the earth, it smiles for me...
oldherbaceous
KG Regular

Dear primrose, i think it used to be buried more than it got composted.
I can remember if we had visitors coming round when i was a boy, i had to dig a hole in the garden and empty the bucket. :shock: :D
They used to call it night soil by the way Primrose.

Kind regards Old Herbaceous.

Theres no fool like an old fool.