Giant Veg?

A place to chat about anything you like, including non-gardening related subjects. Just keep it clean, please!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

Stravaig
KG Regular

I saw this and it made me laugh.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/gal ... n-pictures

I've seen some veg in the local supermarkets, particularly some varieties of squash, that are much to heavy for me to move let alone lift. My guess is that they just take a load of the local harvest, regardless of size, and pile it all onto the veggie areas for sale. I wonder if anyone ever buys these giants. As a keen cook, I always choose smaller veggies anyway because they tend to be tastier and they're easier to prep.

Why do people grow huge veg? Is it like a sport? You just do it for the fun of it? It certainly does seem like fun if you have the space. Does anyone here deliberately grow giant veg? Do tell! :mrgreen:

By the way, the reason I shop at supermarkets rather than markets is because, unlike most countries, that's by far the best place to get good produce. The markets tend not to have such a good selection. Some are just tourist traps. A lot of the local people don't buy much veg anyway as they grow it at their family dacha (country house). It sounds rather grand to have a country house, in British terms, but it's quite the norm here and often the whole extended family gets involved in the agricultural production from their dacha's grounds. Ukraine is the biggest country in Europe and land isn't at a premium as it is on a little island like the UK. (Russia is larger but it's not entirely in Europe.)
Colin2016
KG Regular

There was a marrow that looked like a crocodile on gardeners world last night 44 kg ish, I too questioned if the larger sizes taste any better.
oldherbaceous
KG Regular