Hungry gap kale frittata

General Cooking tips

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

vivienz
KG Regular

I bought a bunch of hungry gap kale at the market last weekend, more out of curiosity than anything else, as I've never tried it before. Very nice it is, too. I had also bought a bag of lovely plump romano peppers, so sweated these off with a leek whilst giving the kale a quick soften up in a pan of boiling water. Popped the drained kale onto the peppers and leek, then poured over some beaten eggs, topped off with some feta cheese that's been lurking in the fridge for a while. Finished off in the oven for 20 minutes then served with some garlic bread. Yum, yum.

I find some kale varieties a bit tough, to be honest, but this was very nice - good enough to grow a bit for next winter once I'm up and running. I still think that black Tuscan kale is nicer, but this made a pleasant change.
Diane
KG Regular

Oooh....like the sound of that meal.
'Preserve wildlife - pickle a rat'
Primrose
KG Regular

That sounds delicious and I would have given it a try but the damned wood pigeons have descended on my plants despite the netting, over the past few days and pecked everything worth taking. I'm VERY cross. I still have some Cavalo Nero though and will try that.
Westi
KG Regular

I love frittata for using up the veg & stuff, a nice comfort winter meal that doesn't need stewing for hours! I grow Cavalo Nero & curly kale as both soften nicely as I agree some kale can be too tough. I like kale, potato & chorizo; definitely some Feta, peppers, kale; in fact kale pops into quite a few of these, but I have been known to throw in left over roast pumpkin with bacon lardons. And leftovers from the frittata make for a nice work lunch with a bit of salad too.
Westi
sandis
KG Regular

Delicious, healthy and easy recipe!
I don't know if my son is right. I wanna try free online bingo win real money no deposit. Only luck can help me, I guess. That place gives me what I need.
Westi