Perfect cake dough

General Cooking tips

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Karmina
KG Regular

I'm trying to prepare an orange cake for my little niece but I always have problem with the dough, it's too liquid, don't know why though I followed the recipe my sister gave me. She made cake like professionnal...

Do you have tips for perfect cake dough?
fab02
KG Regular

I am not a professional but I heard on tv cooking channel not long ago that it is better to push the texture in the spatula to have a firm mixture. You should try
Motherwoman
KG Regular

Some cake mixes can be like a batter to look at rather than a dough, I make a chocolate cake which is runny when you poor it into the tin but sets to a lovely moist cake. Trust your sisters recipe and carry on.
Karmina
KG Regular

Thanks fab, I'll follow your advice and see if it works.
Thanks as well Motherwoman. In fact, I had to trust on my sister's recipe , it's the only one I have. :(
fab02
KG Regular

You're welcome :wink:
This will help you I think
https://delicesandgourmandises.wordpres ... rmandises/
melving.crane
KG Regular

Karmina wrote:I'm trying to prepare an orange cake for my little niece but I always have problem with the dough, it's too liquid, don't know why though I followed the recipe my sister gave me. She made cake like professionnal...

There are plenty of available on the YouTube. I'm sure you'll find better ideas by watching a video tutorial. Best of luck.
Pa Snip
KG Regular

melving.crane wrote:
Karmina wrote:I'm trying to prepare an orange cake for my little niece but I always have problem with the dough, it's too liquid, don't know why though I followed the recipe my sister gave me. She made cake like professionnal...

There are plenty of available on the YouTube. I'm sure you'll find better ideas by watching a video tutorial. Best of luck.

Well that reply could be used for almost every question raised on here.