Fig tree for patio

General tips / questions on seeding & planting

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Pawty
KG Regular

Hi, I've wanted to get a fig tree for ages. I'm after some advice on which variety to get as I want to grow it in a pot on the patio rather than in the ground. I know KG had an article on it a month or so ago, but has anyone grown one in a pot and has it been successful?

Thanks.
robo
KG Regular

I've never grown one in a pot but last year I planted 2 here in Spain one was like a half standard that has grown around eight inches in twelve months the other is a standard tree it was about a foot high it's now near three feet high they are a big sprawling trees think they would be too big for pots but I'm not an expert
Primrose
KG Regular

I grew a Brown Turkey variety in a pot for about 12 years. This is supposed to be the most successful variety here in the UK. Over the years it produced a number of figs the size of a silver five penny piece or slightly larger. None of them ever matured or ripened. A severe winter eventually killed it off. All rather disappointing.
PLUMPUDDING
KG Regular

I've got two in pots but keep them in the greenhouse as the variety is too tender for outdoors (Bourjasotte grise) might have spelt it wrong :D I always get a small crop and they are delicious. I have grow Brown Turkey in a pot but it got rather large so it is now against a wall outside. It doesn't do particularly well but I think our winters are usually too cold and too long for the fruits to ripen properly.

They root very easily and I usually pot up a couple of good cuttings when I prune them as an insurance policy.
robo
KG Regular

They are prolific in Spain and the winters in the mountain where we are can be very cold even snow has been known to fall but in summer it hits over 50 deg I think it's the lack of sunshine rather than the cold
Pawty
KG Regular