North to South 'v' East to West

General tips / questions on seeding & planting

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Cider Boys
KG Regular

We as gardeners are invariably reminded that crops should be grown North to South to get the benefit of the sun moving across the sky giving each side of a plant equal sunshine. However, I was thinking (if I get the land) about trying to grow some vines, something that I have never done before and when talking to a local expert he stated the usual, plant North to South, then added that in his long experience this has actually never been of any importance. I also was a bit of a stickler for North To South rows for most things but on the times I have planted East to West I have never noticed a difference. I'd be interested in other peoples experiences, is too much made of this importance of planting North to South?

Barney
Pa Snip
KG Regular

On our plots the wind flow direction is often such that if we plant tall climbing items like peas/runner/French beans on a north south aspect we have to virtually anchor them down.

I plant lower crops in both north south and east west rows.

When sowing or planting I do try and take account of the supposed height of each variety so that nothing is excessively overshadowed.

Cant say as I have noticed any significant detriment to crop results between same variety crops grown on different aspects from year to year

The danger when people start to believe their own publicity is that they often fall off their own ego.

At least travelling under the guise of the Pa Snip Enterprise gives me an excuse for appearing to be on another planet
oldherbaceous
KG Regular