Raised beds - what and what not to plant

Need to know the best time to plant?

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

David
KG Regular

Hi all

I'm about to start constructing some raised beds as my soil is a bit poor and thin, not to mention hard after the first few inches.

So I can plan properly can anyone say what should not be planted in this way? ie do I need to leave some of my plot as normal beds?

Thanks for any help you can give.

David
Tigger
KG Regular

I've got all of my veg garden and my cutting garden laid out as raised beds. I've been using them for 20 years and I can't think of anything that I haven't been able to grow in them. The trick is not to walk on the soil, so don't make them too wide.
Ian F

I agree with Tigger, you can pretty much plant anything.

If your soil is thin you will need to be aware that raised beds can drain quite quickly. It will help if you are able to bulk them up with organic material. They will also tend to be a bit warmenr than the surrounding soil, so I find that you can plant crops a couple of weeks earlier than you would normaly.
Laurie, Old severn bridge
KG Regular

hi, best results for my first raised bed year(last year) runners along the trellis at the back of one bed, sweetcorn went mental, corriander the biggest ive seen,carrots very good along with much salad pak choi,lettuce mixture,radish ect. failures, sweet peas,i think they got a bit dry. the higher the bed the drier it gets , i am trying some leaky porous pipes this year, i did not fill them to the top, this left growing room when i placed an old piece of secondery glazing over the top, brilliant early starter!!!! which is what we are all trying to achieve ....
pigletwillie
KG Regular

Hi, all of one of my plots is down to raised beds (17) and soft fruit.

Tigger is bang on about not making then too wide. All of mine are four ft with one being 5 ft which is nearly too wide for me.