Enouragement for those with lanky tomato seedlings

Need to know the best time to plant?

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Primrose
KG Regular

I had 2 tomato seedlings which had grown excessively lanky but didn't want to waste this year. I snapped the top six inches off & planted them in moist compost in a shady place. They quickly developed new roots & have regenerated themselves into healthy looking plants.

I've tried this technique in previous years with equal success & find that you actually don't lag behind too much in terms of normal growth in the process, so anybody with spindly tomato seedlings which may not amount to very much want to try this.
John P
KG Regular

What a good idea Primrose,Ihave followed your example about an hour ago with three spindley plants I had left over and await the results. I have been growing vegetables for about fifteen years and this is a new one to me,again one of the reasons I frequent this forum.You never cease learning.JP.
solway cropper
KG Regular

You can also do this with the armpits (side shoots that you pinch out). Pop them in a cup of water and after a week or so they'll have lots of root hairs and you can then pot them up. This is useful if you are growing an F1 variety with expensive seeds. It's easy to get a dozen plants from one seed and they are all perfect clones of the original.
Urban Fox
KG Regular

Don't forget when you prick out your tomato seedlings, for potting on, you can plant them quite low down in the pot. I usually put the seed leaves to the level of the compost.

Then when you plant them out in the soil you can plant them deep again. They will grow roots along the stem which makes them a bit more stable and sturdy in the wind.

My problem is I lost quite a few plants after potting on as they either got wilt - and keeled over and died - or the cold seems to have stopped them in their tracks and they are just not putting on any growth.