Newbie plant killer

If you would like advice from the Kitchen Garden editorial team, ask here. Steve, Emma or Tony will pop in with their best advice.

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

YorkshireDave
KG Regular

Good evening everyone, hope you’re all safe and well.
I’m new to greenhouses having finished building my first one last weekend.
I have various different bedding and fruit plants in which are doing great but I have a cherry tomato plant and a small raspberry plant whose leaves have withered really badly even though I’ve kept them watered.
Have I killed them?
rps20200509_11195-2..jpg
rps20200509_11195-2..jpg (71.37 KiB) Viewed 1816 times
Westi
KG Regular

Welcome Dave!

The raspberry will be fine outside as probably too hot in there for them & it seems at bit shallow planted. They get a long tap root/stem extension before the normal roots. Might save it if you can get it outside in the ground asap! Are you feeding your tomato? They need a feed when they start fruiting as use loads of energy on the fruit production & it's not a huge pot so probably exhausted all the nutrients in it!

Not a plant killer Dave, a gardener in the making! We learn more from our mistakes than the successes, especially with the guys & girls on here to give suggestions to what the mistakes were & prevent those mistakes again!
Westi
YorkshireDave
KG Regular

Thanks a lot for your reply. I have bought some tomato feed and will make sure I keep up with it. As far as the raspberry plant is concerned, unfortunately my garden is all decking so I don’t have any soil. If I find the biggest pot that I can do you think it will still grow?
Westi
KG Regular