disabled gardeners

If you would like advice from the Kitchen Garden editorial team, ask here. Steve, Emma or Tony will pop in with their best advice.

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

merlin777
KG Regular

Is there a specific thread for disabled gardeners? I'm interested in any tips to make gardening easier from a wheelchair?

I'm having my garden made wheelchair-accessible next week and i've had a small conservatory added. I'm just getting into herb pestos and herb teas so they'll be a lot of that around indoors and out. I'm thinking of a small Tahitian lime for the conservatory and a lemon verbena.
Diane
KG Regular

Sounds like it will be a lovely garden when it's all finished....I found a link which you may find useful. https://www.carryongardening.org.uk/tip ... eners.aspx

Let us all know how you progress please.
'Preserve wildlife - pickle a rat'
robo
KG Regular

I would recommend high raised beds that way you could work them from you wheel chair
Primrose
KG Regular

As well as herbs Merlin, do you like growing any vegetables. It would help if we could better understand what your growing preferences were then we might between us to come up with some "blue sky" thinking in how you might be able to best do this.

Troughs on stilts as well as raised beds are obviously an option as well as wall mounted containers at an accessible height.
merlin777
KG Regular

is there a way to post an image?
peter
KG Regular

merlin777 wrote:is there a way to post an image?

Yes.

Click on "Attachments" below the box you type in when posting, select your image via the dialogue, to embed it in your text click
"Place Inline"

FB_IMG_1558898803014.jpg
FB_IMG_1558898803014.jpg (68.7 KiB) Viewed 4595 times
Do not put off thanking people when they have helped you, as they may not be there to thank later.

I support http://www.hearingdogs.org.uk/
merlin777
KG Regular