mouldy compost question

If you're just starting out in the world of kitchen garden growing, then this is the place to ask for help. Our experienced forum members may have the answer you need!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

ilknur
KG Regular

Hello all,
I'm new to gardening or growing much really.
I decided to grow ginger recently (thanks to Pinterest). I managed to have it sprouting but soon enough the compost I planted in became mouldy and the plant died soon after. Now I'm trying again. Again the little bud managed to peak through the soil but the soil started to develop those greyish mould. I don't think I'm overwatering but to keep the soil moist, I spray it with water every 3 days. The compost I used is from a big bag of compost I bought from a garden centre. The only thing I can think of is overwatering unless the compost is contaminated (or the water in the spray bottle contaminated)? I used the same compost for both of the ginger growing attempts.

Soon I'll be starting seeds indoors but I've never done that before so I don't want to kill them all with the same issue. So I better learn what I'm doing wrong.

Any insight is much appreciated.
Thanks!
Geoff
KG Regular

Welcome!