slugs in compost

If you're just starting out in the world of kitchen garden growing, then this is the place to ask for help. Our experienced forum members may have the answer you need!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

daviecyldebank
KG Regular

I am new to composting only been doing it a couple of months i have one of the plastic bins but every time i put stuff in it i seem to be finding a lot of slugs mainly inside the lid of the bin is this something to worry about ?
Pa Snip
KG Regular

Nothing to worry about if you are a shareholder in the Saxa salt company.

I do try to kill them off in my bins just to stop them moving onto the stuff I am trying to grow, but another lot move in pretty quickly.

At least they help break down the compost (allegedly) but when you distribute the compost back around your plots you also distribute the underground slugs.

Catch 22 (or maybe more if you go out at night with a torch :D )

The danger when people start to believe their own publicity is that they often fall off their own ego.

At least travelling under the guise of the Pa Snip Enterprise gives me an excuse for appearing to be on another planet
Westi
KG Regular

Get loads of slugs in my plastic bin at home, less at lottie with my pallet bins. Take them off & dispose of them as best you can! That compost will have slug eggs in them - try to heat it if you can before you put it on your beds!

Westi
Westi
dan3008
KG Regular

Not an issue I've ever noticed. Although, my whole garden has a slug problem this year, so its likely that I've just not looked at the right time. Personally, I've been putting the compost through a rotary sift with a very fine (~1mm, but dont quote me, I'm measuring by eye) mesh... So I hope that would crush the eggs out of existence... and gives the compost a beautiful crumb...
Once the game is over the king and the pawn go back in the same box. Anonymous