celeriac plants

If you're just starting out in the world of kitchen garden growing, then this is the place to ask for help. Our experienced forum members may have the answer you need!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

ashb
KG Regular

I have been offered some celeriac plug plants query is
can i grow them in planterbags and are they easy to
tend to, i know its my first year at growing my own
but hey ho they are free. :D
ash.
its nice to be important
but its more important to be nice
scooter 2008
Kleftiwallah
KG Regular

Got nowt to lose. :D Go for it, celeriac is great in winter stews. but they can be woody if left to grow too large.

Cheers, Tony.
ashb
KG Regular

cheers tony, think i will :D like they say
you dont get owt for nowt these days.
ash.
its nice to be important
but its more important to be nice
scooter 2008
Monika
KG Regular

Just be aware, ashby, that celeriac is very greedy and thirsty, so the plants will need a lot of watering and certainly additional feeding rather than just relying on the growbag nutrients.
sally wright
KG Regular

Dear Ashb,
treat them like tomatoes feeding and watering wise to get the best out of them.
Regards Sally Wright.
glallotments
KG Regular

We're trying to grow celeriac and celery again this year after lots of unsuccessful attempts so although I'd have a go too it isn't an easy crop.
williamraed
KG Regular

Celeriac is a relative of celery but the difference being you grow Celeriac for its origins rather than the greens. Grow it up in exactly the same way and you will have fantastic results as they are not as fussy as celery vegetation. Celeriac is hardier and more disease resistant than celery, but with a similar flavour and aroma. The root contains only 14 calories per 100g, so is excellent if you are on a diet.
grow light is essential for indoor growing
Primrose
KG Regular