Newbie questions

Polytunnels, cold frames, greenhouses, propagators & more. How to get the best out of yours...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

carlos1981
KG Regular

Hi guys,

I am a total newbie at this, (you have been warned!) so please forgive the pending 1 million questions!

My main question is, i have no greenhouse, or area in the garden to plant out, so am looking to make use of sunny kitchen windowsill, and Conservatory. So question 1 is any idea's what i am best growing?

If this helps, so far, my herbs (Basil, Parsley, Chives) are going fine, so i think i have them sorted, i think i've seen that rocket and some other herbs may be just as simple!

I'd love to get my tomato and pepper plants going, but they have been goin for about 7/8 weeks now, toms are decent size plants? (6/7 inch tall), but peppers (3/4 inch) are not moving much over the last few weeks?

Oh yeah, and i never planted anything before - ever! But i seem to get the seeds to seedling stage ok, and now have the above mentioned small plants going.

If anyone could give me any tips, that'd be greatly appreciated

Any questions, just ask, an i'll get back to you ASAP.

Thanks,

Carl
alan refail
KG Regular

Hi Carlos and a warm welcome to the best gardening forum around :wink:

Where to start? It's encouraging to hear what you are growing without ground to plant in.
If your conservatory is sunny you should do well with tomatoes and pepers in containers. Have you room outside for any sort of containers? If so there are plenty of salad plants you can grow. You mention rocket - that's incredibly easy and productive of salad leaves.
Keep your questions coming and I guarantee you will get answers.

Alan
carlos1981
KG Regular

Hi Alan,

Thanks for the reply.

I do have a decent size patio before i get to the Garden, so i could put some containers outside, just not too sure on how, and what to put in there!