Raised Bed & Greenhouse

Polytunnels, cold frames, greenhouses, propagators & more. How to get the best out of yours...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Colin2016
KG Regular

I am new to this as I moved from a city with small mainly concrete garden, to coastal (North Norfolk) area with a large soil garden.

Went to local garden club lecture, brought Kitchen Garden magazine after recommendation and I am hooked.

Following advice from magazine I intend to make 3off raised beds 2ft x 4ft either 12in or 18in deep.

Reason behind this is I am hoping it will keep the dog away as she does not like investigating at a higher level, easier on the body and I have 2 bulk bags of dirt, both have been de weeded and one has been de stoned.

I have created a list of vegetables I would like to grow, some of which call for 6ins depth others call for 12ins.

My thinking is to make them all the same depth, so I can rotate veg over the years without the worry of how deep the soil is.

Are there any vegetables that require depth of more that 12ins?

Any suggestion on what to mix with the earth would be appreciated.

Finally I also intend to get a greenhouse 8 x 6 ft next year leaning towards polycarbonate due to cost at the moment, can anybody offer advise on polycarbonate or glass?

Thank you in advance.
dan3008
KG Regular

First off, if a raised bed is standing on soil, you can always add extra "hight" by digging down too. My raised beds are dug down a LONG way into the ground, but thats another story

As for polly vs glass house. Take what your budget and space will allow. Personally, I went for a bigger polly house, because I had the room but a small budget. A friend of mine a few doors down, has a bigger glass house, and does seem to get a longer season, but every time a window smashes it costs him more to replace that one sheet of glass than my entire greenhouse cost ... (I'm a cheap a$$ :lol:)