Push Lawn Mower

Cleaning, fixing, using, repairing, best and worst of your mechanical aids in the garden...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Galileo
KG Regular

Does anyone have any recommendations for a qood quality Push Lawn Mower?

Thanks

Galileo
Clive.
KG Regular

Hello Galileo,

Do you refer to a push mower in the regular sense of the term ie; a manually operated mower....rather than the similar terminology used for the push version of a non self propelled petrol rotary lawn mower...??

Clive.
Galileo
KG Regular

Hi Clive

Yes I mean a manual operated old fashoned zero horse power mower :)

My lawn is not very large and I want to incorporate some light exercise into my grass mowing.

So I will be doing all the work. :D

Regards

Galileo
Clive.
KG Regular

Hello Galileo,

In my early mowing days I was a keen push mower operator....Qualcast B1, Super Panther, Webb Witch, Ransomes Ajax....being the progression of machines used at home here...'til I went to a late 1960s Atco battery electric mower..

I am out of touch with current offerings in the Push Mower world. :oops: ..other than to say that the majority of machines are of the sidewheel type which are good on open areas of regular lawn but not so good if you have more formal lawn edges with a gulley. There is, I believe, only one roller push mower about, I think, in the Handy? range. I have no experience of these other than spotting one the other week at a local garden centre.... very interestingly they seem to be a lightweight “plasticised" "copy"? of an old design that was once the Qualcast Superlite Panther.. Not sure if this is just a copy of if the basic design has been sold on....it looks so similar but now contains more plastic…….