lawnflite mower problem

Cleaning, fixing, using, repairing, best and worst of your mechanical aids in the garden...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

dbabypowder
KG Regular

hi everyone newbie here , bought a 10/26 lawnflite rideon mower, fitted new belts and blade.worked for 15 mins ..no problems..then it stopped pulling.. not got a manual..and really havent got a clue ..help..please :cry:
Geoff
KG Regular

Do you mean the gearbox is stuck in neutral so there is no drive or the engine power has dropped?
dbabypowder
KG Regular

thanks for answering . am able to change out of neutral..and into reverse..and forward gears wont pull mower along at any speed..was working great..just slowed ..to almost stop.. thankyou.
Geoff
KG Regular

So you think the engine is running fast enough but losing it in the transmission somehow?
dbabypowder
KG Regular

hi engines running fine.just mower moves slow,only about 1 mph in first gear and reverse ..hope im describing it right..thanks
Geoff
KG Regular

I used to have a LawnFlite 604 but I can't remember how the drive system worked or find the manual. I seem to remember two belts, one for drive and one for cutter. You say you changed all the belts and it worked fine for a while, that makes me wonder if the drive belt is slipping after its initial stretching. Is there a mechanism to tension it or could it be an insufficient specification so it has stretched too much. I can't see anything online about this model and none of the real machinery gurus have responded to your post unfortunately.
Clive.
KG Regular

Hello,
I'm afraid that I know nothing about the working of things MTD Lawnflite...

As Geoff mentions, is the belt to the original specification.?...and is it routed around any jockey pulley and guides all ok.? It can sometimes be quite fraught making sense of the routing of belts ...and if routed incorrectly a belt may be destroyed in an instant on running.