Rotavor Assistance required please Cultimatic B66

Cleaning, fixing, using, repairing, best and worst of your mechanical aids in the garden...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Lightpill
KG Regular

Hello All

A couple of years ago some Gentleman called Clive and Richard identified my rotovator given to me by family as a Qualcast B66 Cultimatic. Fitted with a A114 engine. (Suffolk / Atco possibly with a aluminium engine.

It has run well over the last few years, recently I lent it out to someone who decided to service it and altered lots of the throttle linkage from the carburettor to the engine. (I am not a mechanic) Now I am unable to alter the engine speed Its either on at full speed or off. It seems to have been disconnected to the engine governor?. The spring has been discarded and the linkage changed around.

I have seen some drawings on the Bartram website under the Punch / Dellorto carb drawings

I took it to a Garden machinery workshop, who told me immediately not able to get parts etc. A new engine required a Chinese engine on the market we will provide a quote next week etc.

I would prefer to fit a 2nd hand engine or repair the damage to the throttle linkage with old parts and or new if necessary and restore before changing the engine to a (Chinese one with all new parts etc) Is there any one who would have these parts and prepared to fix the machine using as many of the original parts as possible. I would of course be prepared to pay for this service.

I live in Gloucestershire but prepared too travel, it is probably not economic what I am considering however I would prefer to try and fix the machine before discarding the old engine etc.

Any advice welcomed and received

Best wishes Kevin Lea [email protected]
Clive.
KG Regular

Hello Kevin,
Sorry to read of the engine problems..