Correct grade of engine oil query

Cleaning, fixing, using, repairing, best and worst of your mechanical aids in the garden...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

vron
KG Regular

Hi everyone, can you help with this question please.

We have just bought a Mc Culloch Petrol Rotary Mower 46s 500 series.

It has a Briggs and Stratton Engine, and recommends using SAE30 oil, which we have bought.

As you know this is quite expensive to buy, can we use an alternative, like say 5w30, 10w30 or 20w50, without there being any risk of damaging the engine.

Our rotovater engine (Tecumseh 3.5) and our Qualcast Classic 45s petrol mower, both advise SAE 30 oil for the engines, but also says a multigrade oil of 15w40 or 20w50 is acceptable, we use the 20w50 in both, with no problems.

Your advice would be most appreciated.
Vron, Tara & Harley. (The black beastie)

"The more people I meet, the more I like my Dogs"
Cider Boys
KG Regular

Hello Vron

I am NOT an expert on oil, but belive me not many are.

If you are running the machine during its waranty period I would use whatever they advise.