Swiss chard

General tips / questions on seeding & planting

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

poppyseed
KG Regular

I'm very new to this to would appreciate any suggestions: I'd like to grow Swiss Chard and was wondering if anyone has any tips' I'm especially worried about pests eating the foliage - is spraying the only option? given that I want to avoid chemical treatment as much as possible are there any alternatives? My last attempt at cabbage growing ended in an impressive row of chomped stumps so I'm keen to avoid my leaf crops disappearing again this year!
Jenny Green
KG Regular

The only thing I've known to eat swiss chard is slugs. It's much easier than any of the brassicas, which seem to have gm pests specifically engineered to kill them. If you use one of the variety of slug deterrants you should be fine.
poppyseed
KG Regular

Thanks Jenny - will stock up in preparation!
sally wright
KG Regular

Dear Poppyseed,
I have found capsid or shield bugs in mine; they are usually green and hide very well in the foliage and are not always found before consumption. (they taste VILE!!!)
Regards Sally Wright.

eeuuww! will prepare for that one as well!!
Tigger
KG Regular

If you've got the room - grow your first lot of chard for the summer and then sow a new bed for overwintering. I grow the rainbow ones 'cos they look pretty on the plate.

Old timers will recall me getting into a very heated debate last year with folk who don't like chard. I'm a big fan as it's more like 3 veg in one which is particularly useful in the winter.
poppyseed
KG Regular