broad beans... leaves and shoots curling

Can't identify that mould? Got a great tip for keeping slugs at bay? Suggestions for organic weed control? Post them here...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

MarkP
KG Regular

Help!

Can anyone tell me what is happening to my broad beans? I have been growing Imperial Green Windsor for about 15 years (on a three-year rotation) without any problem apart from blackfly, but this year, after a normal start, about 30% of them have suddenly started to curl up their leaves and shoots. I cannot see any infestation or anything obvious and I can't find anything in the normal books.

help please.

Mark
PS .. I have a good image but I cannot see how to insert it.

Geoff
KG Regular

No idea about curly beans, mind you I'm curling up a bit in this weather, people putting on coats in the office!
There is some advice about using pictures in Website Help section. Basically you have to resize the picture to 640 pixels wide and then host it somewhere, a lot of us use photobucket.com. I think you can resize it there as well. When you have got it onto photobucket you well see three entries under the picture, one of them will have the before and after. Just highlight all that entry and do Ctrl C then when you have written your post do Ctrl V and it will paste in the link. Preview will upload it to KG and show it is working.
MarkP
KG Regular

[IMG]http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i193/MarkP_2006/broadbeansIMG_0160reducedto640.jpg[/IMG]
Geoff
KG Regular

Well it should have worked - over to Mr PH - please let us know what was wrong.
MarkP
KG Regular

failed image
Last edited by MarkP on Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Clive.
KG Regular

MarkP
KG Regular

Thanks Clive, that shows it in all its glory! That, believe it or not, was a healthy broad bean plant.

Mark

PS I am using Firefox, is that a problem? Even in Internet Explorer mode.
Clive.
KG Regular

Hello Mark,