Patio pond to herb garden

If you're just starting out in the world of kitchen garden growing, then this is the place to ask for help. Our experienced forum members may have the answer you need!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

jellybabyjan
KG Regular

Hi,

Newbie here :D
I have a small wooden patio pond. I've had enough trying to keep it going every year and have decided to empty it, fill it with compost and grow herbs instead. It's already lined. I just don't know where to start! :(
Do I fill it completely with compost, do I need drainage holes?
Any help would be greatly appreciated :D

Jan
Primrose
KG Regular

See you haven't yet had a reply.
Yes you will need a drainage holes in your container whixh you can cover with a oiece of slate or something similar to allow surplus water to drain away ) and should fill with compost leaving at least an inch space to the rim for watering and rain to accumulate before in drains into the compost.

Pick herbs you like. Mint probably needs a container on its own as it's a thug for spreading.and taking over everywhere!

Oregano, thyme, sage and parsley are all good -they prefer a dry ish compost in a sunny spot. Rosemary is nice to roast with lamb but may rapidly outgrow its space and soon suffocate the others.unless you prune it back. regularly. A clump of chives will be nice for snipping for garnishing omelettes etc.

Most herbs prefer a sunny spot and whilst many can survive water shortages regular drinks will improve their survival especially in drought conditions. If you like basil leave a spot for this althiugh this is an annual and you,ll need to sow some replace the clump every year.

Personally I would improve the compost by adding a few chicken manure pellets if you have any as the herbs could be in situ for several years and this will get them off to a good start.

Give the soil a gentle dressing of fertiliser every spring when growth starts up again. Guide luck !
Westi
KG Regular