How many animals did you kill today?

A place to chat about anything you like, including non-gardening related subjects. Just keep it clean, please!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

Stravaig
KG Regular

Yeah, I buy meat from the butcher or supermarket and fish from the fishmonger. And, as a chef, I have had to kill things occasionally, eg lobster. But I really DO NOT like doing it.

It just occurred to me that I killed about 30 creatures a few minutes ago. :shock: Clams, actually. Our fishmonger goes to Billingsgate every Thursday so if you want anything special you just ask on the Wednesday and collect on the Thursday. They do normally sell frozen cooked clams. But I like fresh better and with shellfish fresh means live.

Erk, I've just killed a whole tribe of them. I suppose size matters because it seemed easy enough just to tip them into the boiling liquid, whereas if it had been, say, a lobster I would have had to attack and kill it personally.

I know the obvious answer would be to be a veggie - and I was for several years. Quite strict too. Didn't even eat eggs. But it just didn't suit my lifestyle and my health suffered so I went back to eating fish and meat. Actually I eat very little meat - maybe once or twice a week but I eat a LOT of fish.

Edit: It's easy enough to be a veggie or even a vegan these days but I'm talking about 40 years ago. Also living in countries where vegetarianism was unheard of or thought to be very weird.
Geoff
KG Regular

We've just aborted five chickens by making a large omelette.
Westi
KG Regular