need help with new patch

Can't identify that mould? Got a great tip for keeping slugs at bay? Suggestions for organic weed control? Post them here...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

jane130
KG Regular

Hiya
I am new here and this is my very first post so be kind .

I am a novice gardener in every sence of the word I haven't grown anything ever but we have a largeish space in our garden that never gets used and hence is always overgrown .

we have decided to put it too use and turn it into a veggie patch it is a great space and it gets lots of sun but is also exposed.

we need to prepare the area but at the mopment it is so overgrown with weeds I just don't know where to start. in previous years we have cleared them but they just keep returning we have an apple tree planted in the area so I am a bit worried about using weed killer . but like I said I am a comolete novice and know nothing so I really need some advice .

ideally i would love to be organic but I'm not planting anything until next year so presumably anything i put on it this year will be gone by then.

I welcome any advice you can give on getting my weed ridden space ready for planting.

TIA
Jane
bigpepperplant
KG Regular

Hi Jane
I'm not much further on from you knowledge-wise so I'm sure someone will give you better advice, but I'd use Round-Up (being careful not to get it near the apple tree) and then cover the ground with black plastic or weed-suppressing membrane. Come autumn I'd rotavate it and incorporate well-rotted manure and the start planting next spring.
Zena
KG Regular