RAISED BEDS

Polytunnels, cold frames, greenhouses, propagators & more. How to get the best out of yours...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

katd
KG Regular

hi i am new to gardening, being semi retired i now have time. i have a reasonably sized back yard but it is all concreted and surrounded by brick walls. i have put in a raised bed 3ft square and 3ft high, in this i have put in topsoil which seems to be a sandy type,then some manure and on top general purpose compost. i have planted 4 autumn bliss raspberry canes 1 at each corner, have i done the right thing or made a complete ****up :?: will i be able to do something similar for a blackberry and possibly veg.all help really appreciated thankyou.
oldherbaceous
KG Regular

Good morning Katd, and a very warm welcome to the forum.

The raised bed you have is ideal for planting just about anything in, as they are three feet deep. Problems always occour when raised beds are very shallow and on concrete.

So if you build more raised beds of the same depth, you can grow what ever you want. Even with the one you have planted with raspberries in, you could sow some quick growing salad stuff, like lettuce and radish, that sort of thing.

There are people who use raised beds on here, so they will be able to help you more than i have. :)
Kind Regards, Old Herbaceous.

There's no fool like an old fool.
FelixLeiter
KG Regular

I hope the raspberries do not take over. Particularly Autumn Bliss, which is about the most vigorous variety of all. It tends to throw up suckers where you don't intend them to be. Also consider the height of the raspberries + the height of raised bed = step ladders required for picking, perhaps.

You've certainly got of to the right start with your soil and manure mixture. It's not too late in the year to sow a few salads for harvesting this year, and into autumn you could put in autumn-sown / planted onions, garlic, and broad beans. They should do well for being well drained.