Tomato leaf curling

Can't identify that mould? Got a great tip for keeping slugs at bay? Suggestions for organic weed control? Post them here...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

cnunns
KG Regular

Hi,
This is my first year growing in a greenhouse (infact my first post too) and I have a range of plants in the greenhouse. One of my tomato plants has grown about a foot taller than all the others and at the top the leaves are curling. What is this, should I pinch out the top main shoot?
Thanks in advance.
Attachments
tomato curl1
tomato curl1
DSC_0045.JPG (2.82 MiB) Viewed 5103 times
tomato curl2
tomato curl2
DSC_0041.JPG (2.54 MiB) Viewed 5103 times
Westi
KG Regular

Hi cnunns! Welcome! (My predictive text was challenged with your signature)!

Are they scorched? Maybe you need to line the greenhouse with fleece or paint it with that chalk stuff to protect them. The light is magnified through glass so you have to shade it as best you can in summer. You can also just throw green wind shield fabric over the whole greenhouse & anchor it down which is probably more efficient as can roll it up & use again for next year!

Don't worry too much if it is only the tips & if you pinch them out they will grow more side shoots which will bear fruit as well. Certainly doesn't look like blight so lucky there at least!
Westi
Geoff
KG Regular

Another welcome. It does look a bit odd, I'd be tempted to wait and see particularly if the rest of the plants are OK. A year or two ago we would probably be discussing weedkiller residue damage. Are they all in the same compost? Any chance of spray drift, perhaps the one nearest the ventilator?
Pa Snip
KG Regular

Hello cnunns and welcome

Knowing your area location might be helpful in pinning down potential causes.

Do you water your tomatoes at the base avoiding leaves as much as possible or do you just water over all the plant.

Are those curled leaves a very dark green or are they black