Blight Resistant Varieties

Can't identify that mould? Got a great tip for keeping slugs at bay? Suggestions for organic weed control? Post them here...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

KG Tony
KG Regular

Had a bad attack of blight this year on potatoes and tomatoes so thought I'd give some blight resistant varieties a go this year. The Sarpo potato varieties have a good reputation so will go with one of these.

As for tomatoes, 'Mountain Magic' was quite impressive so will grow this again. You could also try 'Crimson Crush' - grew that the year before last and liked it. Another blight survivor which I grew last year is a cascading bush variety, 'Losetto'.

I shall grow other varieties too, but at least I will have something to harvest next year if blight attacks again.

Blight stories welcome...
robo
KG Regular

I had the same I've been growing tomatoes for around 45 years and never had blight before, I'm thinking of growing in tubs next year just in case the soil in the pollytunnel is contaminated , I have not decided on the varieties as of now so I'm open to advice but I do like moneymaker
Westi
KG Regular

I'm trying Mountain Magic this year as well. I tried Crimson Crush last year and it got blight! (Pics on here somewhere). I've got my self sown Tomato that pops up each year but I'm not sure the seeds I saved will be viable as they took forever to dry out as I was going to share them on here for everyone to give it a trial. (I tried to germinate a few on paper towel but it was a no show). It does get blight but shrugs it off until the very end of season.

Does the soil get contaminated from blight robo? I thought the spores were in the air & just landed on the toms & spuds then they died but the soil was OK? That would be a worry as I get it quite frequently, doubt there is much plot space left that would be uncontaminated.

Westi
Westi
OscarSidcup
KG Regular