Is this Japanese Knotweed?

Can't identify that mould? Got a great tip for keeping slugs at bay? Suggestions for organic weed control? Post them here...

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Primrose
KG Regular

I have just spotted this plant growing out the corner of the brickwork at the base of a cottage wall abutting the pavement a few hundred yards from where I live.

I have no personal experience of the horrors of this plant but if it is knotweed I'm wondering whether I should alert the owners of the fact and the possible problems it could cause . There doesn't appear to be any other similar growth in the nearby viccinity .

Coincidentally I spotted a photograph of Japanese Knotweed in the Letters page of the Telegraph today under the topic of the difficulties of elimnating this plant and the leaves do look rather similar. Are there similar plants with which it could be mistaken?

Any thoughts?
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (224.8 KiB) Viewed 3968 times
Last edited by Primrose on Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
peter
KG Regular

Yes it is JKW.
Do not put off thanking people when they have helped you, as they may not be there to thank later.

I support http://www.hearingdogs.org.uk/
Primrose
KG Regular

Thanks for the diagnosis. That's what I suspected?
What would you do folks? Keep quiet or tell the owners who you don't know and who probably have no idea of the new guidance recently issued on how Knotweed has to be handled ?
Westi
KG Regular

I'd tell them. Their cottage is at risk as is the whole street the way this thing takes over.

Westi
Westi
PLUMPUDDING
KG Regular

Isn't the council responsible for getting rid of it if it is on the edge of the pavement?
Johnboy
KG Regular

I think it was Chris from Elgin who managed to get rid of Japanese Knot Weed with glyphosate.
Japanese Knot Weed having a segmented stem he cut the stem just above a segment and then put glyphosate into what is effectively a little cup and it worked wonders.