I'm not good at following recipes.

General Cooking tips

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter

Ricard with an H
KG Regular

Probably because I followed recipes that may have been poorly researched and I do know that many cook books in the past had 'page fillers'. Then there is the issue of opinion when it comes to the outcome.

I cooked for a family of five during my early adult years, mostly I regarded cookbook recipes as an excuse to employ a photographer because I have some very basic cookbooks that don't have photos though encourage artistry in the cooking process.

Recently I realized that in some cases, maybe many cases, the detail and technique are supremely important in order to achieve the outcome perceived by the author.

Genarally what I'm trying to describe is my attitude of always improvising a recipe when I have learnt recently that that many techniques are very important and the recipe won't survive an improvised approach.
How are you supposed to start and maintain a healthy lifestyle if it completely removes a wine lover’s reason to live?
Richard.
Westi
KG Regular

Hi Richard!

I always try to follow a recipe I like by the cook book for the first time but always end up tweeking it. Taste is a subjective thing as we have memories from our past & likes & dislikes of our own. That is why I get angry with some chefs who just think they are so right & we all should like as they are so clever.

I think cakes & breads have 'rules' to get a result but anything else can be adapted.
Westi
Geoff
KG Regular

I'm no cook but my wife is. Recipes are for ideas and guidance. If you can cook just use what you have as best you can, you can't grow to a recipe. We buy very little that is finished just ingredients.
Ricard with an H
KG Regular

Ok, take bread making. At least I can offer some qualified comment because I'm still making bread that wouldn't hold up too the recent explosion of artisan bakers.