garlic

If you're just starting out in the world of kitchen garden growing, then this is the place to ask for help. Our experienced forum members may have the answer you need!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

jeff64
KG Regular

sorry if the subject has been discussed but i can not find it , i am quite new to gardening (i have an allotment), anyway regarding garlic i planted mine last october the other day i uncovered one to see how they were going to my surprise it was like a giant spring onion. My question is why did this happen? and can i still eat them,hope someone can help. thanks jeff
peter
KG Regular

Funnily enough it has and recently, see this topic forum.kitchengarden.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13965
Do not put off thanking people when they have helped you, as they may not be there to thank later.

I support http://www.hearingdogs.org.uk/
Westi
KG Regular

Hi jeff64! Welcome to the forum! (I know you've been here a while but do post)!

If it is a veg than eat it, we get wonky stuff, not as planned stuff, garlic that doesn't split into cloves but you can get food out of them, onions that decide to bolt is another classic. They won't store but take the stalk out of the onion & use the rest, grate /chop the whole garlic bulb into food or just roast it whole. If your cabbages go to flower use the leaves like you'd do the head. Waste not want not - will look the same when cooked. But will take a bit to get your head around the fact it doesn't look like the supermarket stuff!
Westi
Primrose
KG Regular