fine vermiculite

If you're just starting out in the world of kitchen garden growing, then this is the place to ask for help. Our experienced forum members may have the answer you need!

Moderators: KG Steve, Chantal, Tigger, peter, Chief Spud

The Mouse
KG Regular

Ok, I'm not a beginner, but I'm new to using vermiculite!

This year, I'm going to have a go at growing some long parsnips for the village show, and all the successful growers seem to add fine vermiculite to their growing medium (along with lots of other things).

Most of the fine vermiculite that I've found online is being sold specifically as bedding substrate for people who keep spiders.
Does anyone know if this is any different from the fine vermiculite being sold for horticultural purposes?
Cauliflower is nothing but cabbage with a college education.
Mark Twain
sally wright
KG Regular

Dear Mouse,
put in to the search engine horticultural vermiculite. Then choose the medium grade. If you want some fine simply sieve a little out of the medium. Most garden centres stock it, but be wary of the stuff in the DIY sheds as if it is for insulation purposes it has chemicals added to make it waterproof.
I tend to use the coarse sieved portion of the medium grade to cover almost all the seeds I surface sow (not beans, peas, sweetcorn etc) as this allows light to the seeds which helps germination. The finer portion of the medium grade (the bit which goes through the sieve) I reserve for very fine seeds such as begonia, petunia and lobelia. Off hand I cannot think of any vegetable seeds that need fine vermiculite to cover them.
As for putting vermiculite into the compost, well yes you can but really it is too expensive to do that with. What I do do is save the compost from the seed trays (unless damping off has reared it's head) and put it in with batches of compost I am mixing for potting on purposes (but not pricking out!).